Prev

Next

Karur Vysya Bank Loses its Complaint   Karur Vysya Bank loses Complaint against registrant of www.karurvysyabank.com! Karur Vysya Bank(KVB), one of the leading private sector banks in India has been denied relief by the Arbitration and Mediation panel of the WIPO. Karur vysya bank, the complainant in the instant case, was set up in the year 1916. It...

Read more

Case Commentary - MasterCard Mastercard International Incorporated, the owners of well-known Trade Mark “MASTERCARD” have filed a series of Complaints with the Arbitration Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) for transfer of the following domain names; priceless.net, priceless.org, pricelessmastercard.com, pricelesslondon.com, pricelessparis.com, pricelesslosangeles.com, pricelessmexico.com, pricelessnewyork.com, pricelessamsterdam.com, pricelessistanbul.com. The...

Read more

WIPO Case Commentary - Verizon The Arbitration Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has ordered for transfer of nine (9) domain names in favour of the Verizon Group.  The Domain Names against which the complaint has been filed are; www.verizoniphone4.com,  www.verizonwirelessiphone4.com,  www.verizonwirelessiphone4g.com,  www.verizonwirelessiphone5.com,  www.verizonwireless4giphone.com,  www.vzwiphone4.com, www.vzwiphone4g.com, www.vzwiphone5.com, www.vzw4giphone.com. The...

Read more

Intellectual Property Audit The importance of the Intellectual Property and its commercial value is increasing day by day.  It can be said that the Intellectual Property Rights constitutes more than 80% of the total value of the assets of the company. In such an event, it is important for every company to keep track of the value, extent,...

Read more

Bharat Matrimony sues Google again... Match Making service provider Consim Info Pvt., Ltd., (owner of the websites www.bharatmatrimony.com / www.tamilmatrimony.com and several other websites) has filed yet another complaint against internet search engine giant ‘Google’ for violation of its Trade Mark “TAMIL MARTIMONY” by one of Google’s...

Read more

twitter

Case Commentary – MasterCard

Category : Domain Name Disputes

Mastercard International Incorporated, the owners of well-known Trade Mark “MASTERCARD” have filed a series of Complaints with the Arbitration Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) for transfer of the following domain names;

priceless.net,

priceless.org,

pricelessmastercard.com,

pricelesslondon.com,
pricelessparis.com,

pricelesslosangeles.com,
pricelessmexico.com,
pricelessnewyork.com,

pricelessamsterdam.com,

pricelessistanbul.com.

The Complaints were filed by Mastercard to protect its right in the Trade Mark PRICELESS.  While Mastercard succeeded in getting transferred three domain names viz., priceless.net, priceless.org & pricelessmastercard.com, it appears that it has failed to convince the Arbitration Panel with regard to the other seven domain names.  The Arbitration Panel arrived at the conclusion that Mastercard failed to prove that the respondents acted in bad faith coupled with the fact that Mastercard did not provide sufficient evidence (in the form of documents) to prove the bad faith.  This would come as a big setback for Mastercard since it would be difficult to succeed in future complaints against domain names which have geographical location in addition to the expression PRICELESS.  With regard to the position in India, the domain name www.pricelessindia.com appears to have been registered by an individual.  The best strategy now available for Mastercard would be to register all the available domain names with geographical locations.  For Example www.pricelessmastercard.in / www.pricelessmastercard.co.in appear to be available for registration in India.

Domain Name Disputes India, are India’s first consultants dealing exclusively with Online Brand Protection & Domain Name Disputes. Domain Name Disputes India offers its clients detailed online brand protection strategies and solutions to protect them from online frauds, cybersquatting, sale of counterfeit goods etc., To know more, please visit www.domaindisputesindia.com., call me @ +91 9840477744 or mail me at karthik@domaindisputesindia.com.

 

Welcome to the Web-Blog of Domain Name Disputes India

4

Category : Uncategorized

Welcome to the Blog Page of Domain Name Disputes India.

Domain Name Disputes India is a new generation law firm with specific expertise in the field of Domain Name Disputes. This is the first of it’s kind in India. With this blog, we are keen in writing on the constant happenings in the field of Domain Names, trademarks and related intellectual property; not only from India, but from all parts of the world.

At Domain Name Disputes India, expert trademarks attorneys concentrating on domain name disputes and other online trademarks dispute issues advice Indian and International clients on cross border issues involving complex legal position. Our attorneys possess deep knowledge on international trademark disputes and remedy the same. We represent our clients before any forum, be it arbitration or court proceedings.

Our specialized knowledge, risk free working mechanism and confidence in handling matters are our key assets.

This blog is authored by Mr. G R Hari, Founding Partner, Domain Name Disputes India. He is an attorney with several specialization including technology laws. He also co-founded Indian Surrogacy Law Centre, India’s First Surrogacy Law Firm.

Please feel free to post your comments. You can also mail the author of this blog at grhari@domaindisputesindia.com.

Happy Reading!