Prev

Next

Karur Vysya Bank Loses its Complaint   Karur Vysya Bank loses Complaint against registrant of www.karurvysyabank.com! Karur Vysya Bank(KVB), one of the leading private sector banks in India has been denied relief by the Arbitration and Mediation panel of the WIPO. Karur vysya bank, the complainant in the instant case, was set up in the year 1916. It...

Read more

Case Commentary - MasterCard Mastercard International Incorporated, the owners of well-known Trade Mark “MASTERCARD” have filed a series of Complaints with the Arbitration Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) for transfer of the following domain names; priceless.net, priceless.org, pricelessmastercard.com, pricelesslondon.com, pricelessparis.com, pricelesslosangeles.com, pricelessmexico.com, pricelessnewyork.com, pricelessamsterdam.com, pricelessistanbul.com. The...

Read more

WIPO Case Commentary - Verizon The Arbitration Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has ordered for transfer of nine (9) domain names in favour of the Verizon Group.  The Domain Names against which the complaint has been filed are; www.verizoniphone4.com,  www.verizonwirelessiphone4.com,  www.verizonwirelessiphone4g.com,  www.verizonwirelessiphone5.com,  www.verizonwireless4giphone.com,  www.vzwiphone4.com, www.vzwiphone4g.com, www.vzwiphone5.com, www.vzw4giphone.com. The...

Read more

Intellectual Property Audit The importance of the Intellectual Property and its commercial value is increasing day by day.  It can be said that the Intellectual Property Rights constitutes more than 80% of the total value of the assets of the company. In such an event, it is important for every company to keep track of the value, extent,...

Read more

Bharat Matrimony sues Google again... Match Making service provider Consim Info Pvt., Ltd., (owner of the websites www.bharatmatrimony.com / www.tamilmatrimony.com and several other websites) has filed yet another complaint against internet search engine giant ‘Google’ for violation of its Trade Mark “TAMIL MARTIMONY” by one of Google’s...

Read more

twitter

Karur Vysya Bank Loses its Complaint

Category : Finance Companies, Intellectual Property

 

Karur Vysya Bank loses Complaint against registrant of www.karurvysyabank.com!

Karur Vysya Bank(KVB), one of the leading private sector banks in India has been denied relief by the Arbitration and Mediation panel of the WIPO.

Karur vysya bank, the complainant in the instant case, was set up in the year 1916. It has registered a number of domain names such as <kvb.co.in>, <karurvysya.com>, <thekarurvysyabank.com>, etc.

It is also the registered proprietor of the trademark ‘KVB’ bearing Application No. 1145374 in the office of the Trademarks Registry, Chennai.

KVB filed a Complaint with the WIPO against registration of the domain name <karurvysyabank.com> by one Lakhsmi Narasimha and prayed for transfer of the said domain name.

KVB submitted that it had exclusive rights to the trademark /domain name “Karur Vysya Bank”.  It alleged that the respondent adopted the said domain name only with a dishonest intention to cash upon on the reputation and goodwill of KVB.

Though the Panel observed that the complainant’s rights in the registered trademark would bolster the chance of relief under the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, the complainant was the registered proprietor of the trademark ‘KVB’ alone. They had no Trademark registration or any Pending Application for the expression “KARUR VYSYA BANK” per se .

The Panel expressed that KVB also did not expressly claim rights under common law whereby they could have alleged that the respondents were passing off their services as from KVB.   KVB also did not submit commensurate proof to affirm the fact that the confusingly similar expression ‘KARUR VYSYA BANK’ has acquired immense reputation to the extent that general public associate the mark only with KVB.

Hence the centre adjudicated that KVB failed to prove that it had rights in the deceptively similar domain name and subsequently denied the complaint!

This Order from the WIPO proves the need for online companies to Audit their Intellectual Property Portfolio.  An IP Audit would have analysed the Intellectual Property Rights that vests with KVB and would also have suggested ways to obtain complete protection of its Intellectual Property Rights.

Domain Name Disputes India, are India’s first consultants dealing exclusively with Online Brand Protection & Domain Name Disputes. Domain Name Disputes India offers its clients detailed online brand protection strategies and solutions to protect them from online frauds, cybersquatting, sale of counterfeit goods etc., To know more, please visit www.domaindisputesindia.com., call me @ +91 9840477744 or mail me at karthik@domaindisputesindia.com.

 

 

WIPO Case Commentary – Verizon

Category : Uncategorized

The Arbitration Panel of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has ordered for transfer of nine (9) domain names in favour of the Verizon Group.  The Domain Names against which the complaint has been filed are;

www.verizoniphone4.com,

 www.verizonwirelessiphone4.com,

 www.verizonwirelessiphone4g.com,

 www.verizonwirelessiphone5.com,

 www.verizonwireless4giphone.com,

 www.vzwiphone4.com,

www.vzwiphone4g.com,

www.vzwiphone5.com,

www.vzw4giphone.com.

The Order which was made on 30th March 2012 ruled that the respondent Cyrus de Ocampo (the registrant of all the nine domain names) has cyber squatted the domain names and has registered them in bad faith.  One important issue to be noted in the Order is that though the Domain Names contained the expression “IPHONE”, which is a well-known mark of Apple Inc., the Panel ruled in favour of Verizon on the ground that “the respondent’s inclusion of third-party’s Trade mark in a domain name does not eliminate confusing similarity. 

With regard to the Indian Market, it seems that mobile operators in India have not yet analysed the 'Online Brand Protection Strategies' and the dilution and tarnishment that a cybersquatted domain name may cause to their well-known Trade Mark.  For example, www.airteliphone.com / www.airceliphone.com have been cybersquatted.

Domain Name Disputes India, are India’s first consultants dealing exclusively with Online Brand Protection & Domain Name Disputes. Domain Name Disputes India offers its clients detailed online brand protection strategies and solutions to protect them from online frauds, cybersquatting, sale of counterfeit goods etc., To know more, please visit www.domaindisputesindia.com., call me @ +91 9840477744 or mail me at karthik@domaindisputesindia.com.

Welcome to the Web-Blog of Domain Name Disputes India

4

Category : Uncategorized

Welcome to the Blog Page of Domain Name Disputes India.

Domain Name Disputes India is a new generation law firm with specific expertise in the field of Domain Name Disputes. This is the first of it’s kind in India. With this blog, we are keen in writing on the constant happenings in the field of Domain Names, trademarks and related intellectual property; not only from India, but from all parts of the world.

At Domain Name Disputes India, expert trademarks attorneys concentrating on domain name disputes and other online trademarks dispute issues advice Indian and International clients on cross border issues involving complex legal position. Our attorneys possess deep knowledge on international trademark disputes and remedy the same. We represent our clients before any forum, be it arbitration or court proceedings.

Our specialized knowledge, risk free working mechanism and confidence in handling matters are our key assets.

This blog is authored by Mr. G R Hari, Founding Partner, Domain Name Disputes India. He is an attorney with several specialization including technology laws. He also co-founded Indian Surrogacy Law Centre, India’s First Surrogacy Law Firm.

Please feel free to post your comments. You can also mail the author of this blog at grhari@domaindisputesindia.com.

Happy Reading!